What is NAUFRP?



The National Association of University Forest Resources Programs (NAUFRP), (formerly the National Association of Professional Forestry Schools and Colleges) was formed in 1981 and celebrates its 25th anniversary in 2006. Today, NAUFRP represents 80 of our nationís most prestigious universities and their respective scientists, educators and extension specialists.


NAUFRPís purpose is to advance the health, productivity, and sustainability of Americaís forests by providing university-based natural resource education, research, science, extension and international programs.

Our member institutions’ programs develop future leaders, create intellectual capacity, secure financial investments, and advance cutting-edge technology to sustain forest resources.

We connect educators, professional managers, scientists, conservation leaders, policy makers, landowners, and forest users to jointly address diverse ecological and human challenges.

Our vision for Americaís forests is that there will be a national long-term investment to maintain, enhance, and protect the quantity and quality of our forests and the benefits and intrinsic values forests offer. Download our vision statement.


Membership Qualifications

Membership is open to American institutions offering educational programs that lead to a professional degree in forestry or conducting research in forestry supported by the McIntire-Stennis Cooperative Forestry Research Program. McIntire-Stennis funding, along with nonfederal matching funds, constitutes a base support for long-term research efforts and provides the central linkage in the federal-state partnership. The association also welcomes, as affiliate members, administrators from member institutions who have an interest in forestry.


The General Assembly, composed of one representative from each member institution, is the governing body of the association, but it delegates much of its authority and responsibility to the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee consists of the president, president-elect, secretary-treasurer, the immediate past resident, a representative for 1890 institutions, four regional chairs and standing committee chairs for extension, education, diversity, international, policy, and research programs.

The association is organized into four regions reflecting the climatic and geographic diversity of the resource and the varying patterns of forest land ownership. The regional boundaries match those established by the USDA in its programs.


The structure of NAUFRP is intended to facilitate coordination of forestry issues with the units of the Association of Public and Land-Grant University (APLU), and the National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) and the U.S. Forest Service of the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

NAUFRP also works with state governments, forest industry, trade associations, conservation and environmental organizations and forest landowner groups to ensure the responsiveness of research and extension programs to national, state and local needs.

What NAUFRP Member Institutions Offer